First United Methodist Church enjoys a rich heritage dating back to 1881 when the first church congregation officially organized. Regarded as the second church of any denomination to be organized in Abilene, FUMC began construction of the city's first church building in 1882 and completed the project in 1883. Prior to that time, members assembled in worship tents and, later, a schoolhouse on North 3rd and Cedar.
Over the years, FUMC witnessed the establishment of a second sanctuary in 1890, a third in 1925, and the fourth, and most current, sanctuary in 1965. During that time, the church also owned a series of historic church parsonages, which housed FUMC pastors and their families.
In 2005-2006, First United Methodist built its Ministry Activity Center (MAC) as a multi-purpose facility for Sunday school classes, children's activities, and general fellowship opportunities. In 2008, FUMC celebrated its official 125th anniversary.